I love me some bookses

If you are a reader, you owe it to yourself to check out BookMooch. There you can list any books you are willing to give to others, and use your points to mooch from other people. As the site becomes more popular, there’s a great variety of stuff available. I’ve found it a great way to share romance paperbacks with folks (even half.com doesn’t pay much for those anymore), and today I got 3 sewing titles in the mail: Fit for Real People, Flatter Your Figure by Jan Larkey, and Mother Pletsch’s Painless Sewing with Pretty Pati’s Perfect Pattern Primer. FFRP and FYF are for reference, mostly, as I’ve found that I prefer Sandra Betzina’s Fast Fit techniques most of the time. But the Mother Pletsch title is just cracking me up. It’s the first version of the Palmer/Pletsch fit book, printed in 1977 and self-published, I believe. It’s got great 70s illustrations and the pictures of Palmer and Pletsch in the forward are just delightful (I had that bowl haircut when I was four). The text is really useful, actually – lots of tips, techniques, and fitting solutions. If you get a chance to pick one of these up used, do it.

One thought on “I love me some bookses

  1. BookMooch

    I found your web site from the links on Wardrobe Refashion. I am also a book lover and followed your link to BookMooch. I had never heard of it before but I am sending off my first book today. Thank you for mentioning the site.

    Refashioners (refashionistas?) have more in common than just working on their wardrobe!

    Stacey
    http://www.staceyl.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

