So much for simple

I thought I’d throw together a quick elastic-waist skirt out of the blue diagonal-stripe linen as my return to sewing. I grabbed Simplicity 4881 @ the Joann’s pattern sale (since the Burda pattern I wanted wasn’t in the cabinets) and skipped merrily along. Ah, the best laid plans. I cut it on the straight grain instead of the bias because of the stripes, and even though there’s quite a bit of ease included, it’s a bit too snug to comfortably fit over my hips. And I don’t have enough fabric to recut. So now I’m trying to decide whether to a) put in a zipper and fashion some sort of faced waist b) throw it in the TBR pile and hope I lose more weight or c) attempt some kind of added fabric gusset/strapped seam dealie at the side seams. I could do something in self-fabric, but I found this 1/8 yd ‘swatch’ from FFC in my scrap bin which looks kinda cool and Anthropologie with it. What do you think, quirky and interesting, or weird and jarring?

One thought on “So much for simple

Leave a Reply

