Fall Fashion

As someone who’s interested in clothing, I always feel like I should care about Fashion Week in New York, but I never seem to have much enthusiasm for it. The process that translates conceptual high fashion into wearable garments seems both inexplicable and negatively politically charged to me. Other processes of commercializing and commodifying art bother me less; I suppose that fashion includes the issues of female body image and the objectifying gaze. Anyway, enough sociological nattering.

Here are the trends for this fall that I’ve seen and liked:

  • sweaters, sweater coats, sweaterdresses
  • menswear influences: cuffed trousers, vests, chunky grandpa cardigans
  • saturated jewel tone colors

I’m considering how I can incorporate these into my fall sewing. I’m already planning on a couple of vests, since I’ve always been a vest fan. What about you?

Oh, and anyone know where to get decent sweater knit that’s neither acrylic nor wool?

Leave a Reply

