In a funk

I’ve been feeling a bit stuck as far as sewing creativity goes. I’ve got a sweater knit cut out in an Onion coat pattern, as well as a laptop bag that I saw featured on America Sews. But I haven’t touched either one of them in a week or two.

When I read the sewing boards and blogs recently, I’m finding them more frustrating than helpful. I can’t help but think “oh, I never could have thought of that” or “I don’t have the tools/money to do that” or “that would take me years to learn”, yadda yadda. I know it’s not necessarily true and it’s certainly not helpful, but I can’t help but feel that way right now.

I think it’s been exacerbated by the wardrobe review process that I went through recently, and seeing that the real holes in my wardrobe are the ones that require skills I don’t have yet – tailored pants, etc. I know I can make knit tops until the cows come home but I already have more than enough of those. In addition, I’ve lost a bit of weight and it’s easier for me to find RTW that fits right now (not that I have a lot of $$ to spend on it right now).

What I wish is that I felt about sewing like I do about cooking. I enjoy cooking, but am not obsessed by it. I watch cooking shows and read recipes on occasion, but I rarely follow recipes to the letter anymore. I can look at what I have in my kitchen and come up with an interesting dish out of it. I enjoy the process; most of the time I make simple things but occasionally I crank it up and make something really complicated, and I enjoy both.

I’ve been trying to remind myself that I’ve been cooking since I was a kid, and it took a lot of time and practice to get to the point where I am now, as well as many years spent cooking alongside my mom when I was younger. I wish I had a hands-on mentor like that for sewing. I’ve tried taking a few sewing classes, but the overly-organized, stepwise process that I find perfectly acceptable in intellectual work irritated me deeply when applied to something that was supposed to be an enjoyable hands-on hobby.

Leave a Reply

