Creative space Thursday

Recently I discovered the blog Hoppo Bumpo – which is doing a great series on seam finishes BTW – and her weekly Thursday creative space photos, a group effort organized by Kootoyoo. So I thought I’d take my own and join the list of participants. Mainly I’m excited that I’m sewing again, even if the Cold of Doom is still slowing me down a bit.

The white/black plaid and the pattern instructions are for a jacket I’m working on from Vogue 8562. I’m making it unlined from a really ravelly boucle, so I have to figure out how to finish all the seams – right now I’m thinking of binding them all with bias. The white and blue calico is a bag lining for a bag from Oh Fransson, and the jeans peeking out are going to become the bag exterior – I’m trying a little creative reuse. The zipper’s destined to replace a broken one on a skirt I bought at an after-Christmas sale (at an additional half off since the zipper was busted), but I’ve been putting it off because I didn’t want to have to change the thread color and then change it right back. I swear, I’m a lunatic.

3 thoughts on “Creative space Thursday

  1. I love nothing more than to be able to reuse stuff I don’t use or don’t like to make something new to love! I can’t wait to see how your bag turns out.

  2. Wow, that’s going to be a beautiful jacket. I love the neckline on that pattern. Wouldn’t a Hong Kong seam finish look nice ? 🙂

Leave a Reply

