The blogs roundup

Via Into the Fray, check out this wacky article at Outside magazine about Brit Eaton, a guy who makes his living going around the West looking for vintage and antique jeans and other clothing. When you have to watch out for rattlesnakes and angry men with shotguns, it brings a whole new meaning to thrift hunting.

February is fat quarter month at Sew Mama Sew, and each weekday they’re posting a project to do using fat quarters. Lots of clever and useful ways to use up small pieces. I should really be making the travel tissue holders, given how my cold refuses to go away.

On another topic, one of my favorite ‘daily wardrobe photo’ blogs is Fashion for Nerds, and she’s got a wonderful series of posts up about kicking your style up a notch. It’s a great combination of the practical and the intellectual visual/aesthetic, and not the same old boring stuff you get from fashion magazines. I think many sewers would find it inspirational, particularly if you’re working on a SWAP or wardrobe collection.

One thought on “The blogs roundup

  1. Shopping in London

    Hi, I just happened on your blog entry from a couple of years ago about shopping in London. Your references to different shops are helpful. I’m an avid sewer/knitter/crafter. I have 1 husband, 6 children and 19 grand children. I do a lot of sewing/knitting/crocheting/crafting for them and for friends. While visiting my son’s family in England next week-until 22 March, I wanted to search out fabric and yarn shops. I’m a bit discouraged about the London fabric shops…can’t find very many. And it seems the fabric district is basically non-existant. I am also concerned about the costs I’m going to encounter as well. I’ve done a lot of shopping in NYC and love going there, but fabric and trim store are dwindling there as well.

    Do you have any more suggestions on London fabric shopping since you posted in your blog in 2007? I would appreciate any help you can give. Thanks, Ymana Johnson, Roy, Utah 801-985-0490

Leave a Reply

