Maker Faire

Sunday we went to the Maker Faire. I always feel bad that I don’t enjoy Maker Faire more. I sew, I do crafty and DIY stuff – I’m just their audience. But there’s so much *stuff* there, so many people and options I feel like I’m always running around, just getting the surface level of things and not learning anything substantive.

Decades of Style were there, and I would have bought one or two of their newish patterns, but the area where their table was was just insanely crowded with people. It’s neat to see their sample garments; their envelope illustrations are so vintage-y that it’s sometimes hard to imagine them made up for the modern wardrobe. I was struck particularly by the Lily Jacket, which was lovely with a cool back seaming detail, made in a rayon-y drapey fabric, and would be really nice as a topper over a summer dress.

Leave a Reply

