Sewing Goals for 2010

I’m not one for resolutions, but I do love a good quantifiable goal. Here are some of mine:

– sew down the stash: at some point last fall I stopped tracking yards in and yards out, and I need to get back to that. In addition, I’d like to get my stash down to the point that it will fit in the plastic drawers allocated to it, and not explode throughout the rest of the garage like it is now.

– take a break from buying clothes: I’m taking the Wardrobe Refashion pledge, at least informally, and avoiding buying new clothes through March. Honestly, I’ve got enough clothes right now, and my energies would be better spent sewing or on other projects rather than shopping, even if most of it is just window shopping.

– make a button-front collared shirt: I now feel competent making knit tops and simple zippered skirts, so it’s time to move on to something more challenging. And I must admit, shamefaced, that I’ve never even made a buttonhole on my machine.

– in the fall I’d like to tackle making (non-elastic-waist) pants, but first I want to lose a few more pounds. I know, how cliched for January….

One thought on “Sewing Goals for 2010

  1. I am so far behind on reading blogs that I thought you were still at LJ! So here’s a repeat of my post from there. – Neefer

    Shoot. I should read your blog more than once a year. I’m sorry we missed you at MakerFaire. If you aren’t going to PatternReview’s BABES this weekend, DoS will be at ASG in Walnut Creek. I’ll be at BABES.

    Here’s the announcement;
    Decades of Style Trunk Show @ Walnut Creek ASG Chapter Meeting

    Walnut Creek / East Bay Chapter of the American Sewing Guild Invites you to attend.

    When: Saturday, January 23, 2010 from 9:30 am – 2:00 PM
    Where: Odd Fellows Hall, 4349 Cowell Ranch Road, Concord
    What: Decades of Style Trunk Show
    Cost: $10 members/$20 non-members
    Contact: Julianne Bramson
    Phone: 925-640-2459
    E-mail: walnutcreek@asg.org
    URL: http://www.asgwalnutcreek.org/

    Do you love vintage patterns? Decades of Style REALLY loves vintage patterns. Their goal is to take the beautiful and amazing clothing designs from 1900 through 1959 (with a main focus on 1920 through 1959) and make these patterns available to anyone. They have patterns that are SOOOO beautiful they are going to make you tremble! These patterns are too good to stay discontinued and we are going to fix that!

    They offer high-quality reproductions of the original sewing patterns and have 9 sizes available in every style from bust size 30″ up through bust size 46″! Select styles are available in 12 sizes. The original patterns are faithfully reproduced so you will have the opportunity to make these breath taking garments!

Leave a Reply

