U-g-l-y, you ain’t got no alibi, you UGLY

In August I went through my fabric stash – quilting and garment fabric – in order to send some stuff to the Iraqi Bundles of Love effort. It made me realize that I have a lot of quilting fabric, most of which I haven’t done anything with recently. I got really into quilting a couple of years ago, and then after a while got really burnt out on it, leaving a lot of projects unfinished in various stages. My burnout has faded somewhat, and so I’ve decided that I need to either finish some of the projects or donate the fabric to someone who will use it.

I posted about one of my projects already – the quilt for the Jo-Ann’s contest – and I now have a pattern chosen for it too. But before I started that one, I decided to participate in a block lottery organized by an online forum. The block for this one was Pineapple Blossom from Quiltville, and we made them in white and scrappy pieces. I made eight blocks, using scraps from my scrap basket, so they’re very random. Ugly, one might even say?

Nah, they’re not ugly, they’re unique, I say. Maybe that’s just my creator’s voice talking. Anyway, they’ve been sent off to the organizer. I don’t know if I should hope I win the lottery, and get my blocks back (and everyone else’s) or hope someone else gets the gift of my ‘unique’ blocks.

Leave a Reply

