I’ll take “Patterns I’ll Never Try Again” for $1000, Alex

A couple months ago my local Modern Quilt Guild received some sets of Robert Kaufman charm packs (precut 5” squares) in solids, so they devised a challenge: use the charm packs as your primary fabric, and only use solids for your quilt.

I was looking around for ideas for my take on the challenge, and among the search results for using charm packs was this Square Dance quilt [PDF link] by Cheryl Petreman. The pinwheel effect looked cool, so I decided to try it out. I first had to put the squares together in a grid where each fabric contrasted sufficiently with the ones around it – this took some fiddling and head-scratching but I finally found a reasonable layout. I didn’t use every single one of the pieces – there were two or three left unused, I believe.
I started having problems with the simple task of sewing the squares into rows and columns – the precut charm packs come with pinked edges rather than straight ones, and I found that that made it difficult for me to make my seam allowances accurate and consistent. I had to redo some several times and when I was putting columns together, even with pinning and fudging I ended up with a couple corners that were really off. I decided to move on with what I had. This is what it looked like after the first step.

Then I got to the part where you create a template, mark up the quilt, and cut it up, and the real trouble began. Even though I’d used 5″ squares, when I tried to use the size template indicated in the instructions it was too small. This matters because if your template is too small, you don’t get an even grid to use to cut. I tried 3″ and 3.5″ and finally made another one at 3.75″ which was still a little small but close enough that I stuck with it.

Then I got to the cutting, which took less time than I thought but was hard to do accurately, especially since you have to do it with scissors since the grid is offset. And of course, if your squares aren’t perfectly sized, they will be difficult to sew together. Oh yeah, and did I mention that since everything gets rotated, all these seams are bias? (The author does have an optional section on how to use fusible interfacing to stabilize everything, but who wants to bother with that for a quilt, not to mention how it would alter the feel of the fabric?)

I was committed at this point (or is that, should be committed?) and persisted with putting the pieces together, and with a little pulling and fudging and a bit of cursing, I did end up with a finished top.

I am still pondering whether I want to add additional borders – what do you think?

Although I do like the resulting quilt, I wouldn’t recommend this pattern unless you are an expert quilter who is spot on with your 1/4″ seam allowance and a steady hand with fabric shears. In the back of my head, I keep thinking that there has to be a way to get a similar result with less fuss – if I come up with something, you’ll be the first to know.

3 thoughts on “I’ll take “Patterns I’ll Never Try Again” for $1000, Alex

  1. wow that looks so good. I never would have guessed the trials you had to go through to get to that point. All’s well that ends well…. right? Hopefully I’ll have my top finished this weekend. I was a bit on the embarrassed side the show my pitifully unfinished top at the meeting.

  2. I love your finished top. Personally I would not add borders, but if you want to enlarge, it I’d try narrow color bands with larger strips of the same dark color, just of make sure your hard work really takes it’s rightful place as star of the show. (or might you be up for making a band of those pinwheels using the dark color for the 4 corners? It would take some planning, but I think it could be done! Anyway, nice job.

  3. Thanks so much for your input about how charm packs that come with the pinked edges! I’m starting to work on my first quilt and have been having trouble with getting the edges to line up the way the pattern tells me to. I love the approach that you used and it will be a huge help going forward!

Leave a Reply

