The sewing police, aka I’m insane

There has been zero garment sewing happening around these parts. There have been plenty of things happening in my life that I could give as reasons. But the other day, after reading some inspiring sewing blogs, I realized my real issue: self-expectations. I feel like I should step up my sewing, start making more complex garments. Maybe do a fitted dress or another lined skirt or a winter coat. I should advance my skills, prove myself somehow… and that’s where I caught myself being insane.

I had to remind myself there are no sewing police. If I make knit tops and PJ pants for the rest of my sewing life I will still be an OK human being. This is not my career, or something I have to study like I’m getting a degree in it. This is something I do for fun and relaxation. I don’t need to prove that I’m a worthy sewer, whatever that means. Maybe there are other sewers who will look at my work and decide that I’m lame, but that’s their assessment and not something I need to spend time worrying about. Or that’s what I’m telling myself.

It’s funny how certain patterns of behavior get so ingrained that you use them for everything, whether it’s appropriate or not. I like to be prepared, to know a lot and always work hard to progress – which is great in other areas of my life. But in sewing it just makes me less likely to be creative and have fun with it, which is my ultimate goal. So that’s what I’ve been thinking about. I’m tired of tying myself into knots for something that’s supposed to be fun.

One thought on “The sewing police, aka I’m insane

Leave a Reply

