My sewing goals for 2012

I recently read The Weekend Sewer’s Guide to Blouses. The blouse projects were very early-90s art-to-wear, not my style, although there were some cool techniques included. But the introductory section was excellent and made me think. The author made the point that for most of us, sewing is an interest we’ll have for the rest of our lives, and we should have the tools to make it fun, and the patience to develop the skills to make it worthwhile.

I easily get impatient with myself for the techniques I haven’t mastered yet. I think big but then I get frustrated when my results don’t turn out perfectly the first time. Hopefully I will have several more decades of sewing in my life, and taking the time to learn new skills now will pay off in the future.

With that in mind, here are my sewing goals for the next year:

  • Make my blog more robust; take and post more project photos
  • Shift my focus from pattern and fabric stash acquisition to stash use:
    • Winnow down my fabric to those I love and will use
    • Get rid of all patterns that are the wrong size, too complex, or require an FBA (I’m lazy and I like the ones with the FBA built-in)
  • Find a bookcase/location for my sewing books in my sewing space
  • Fit and make a pair of (non-elastic-waist) pants
  • Finish at least one project a month
  • Enter a garment and/or a quilt in the local fair
  • Attend a local ASG meeting
  • Explicitly schedule some time for sewing each week, and try to do a little each day

What about you?

2 thoughts on “My sewing goals for 2012

  1. I hear you on getting frustrated when things don’t turn out right the first time! And about thinking big! It sounds like you’re a beginner sewer like me as well?

    For keeping track of patterns, I put them all in a binder with page protectors in them. I devote a few pages to each pattern and when I’m done with a pattern, I put all of the pieces back in my binder so they won’t get lost. That really helps me. 🙂

    Good luck on your goals!

Leave a Reply

