Can I single-handedly bring back the 70s?

At last weekend’s FabMo I picked up a fabulous piece of 70s doubleknit with a knitted-in “print”. I was planning to use it for a wearable muslin for who knows what, but then I realized… Pattern Review is doing a Vintage Pattern contest March 15 – April 15. I’ve got a rockin’ 70s knit dress pattern that was one of my first sewing successes, and it would be a lot of fun to reunite the pattern and fabric. I made it up several times a few years ago, but all those dresses have long since worn out. The resulting dress might end up so over-the-top I’ll never wear it out of the house, but this pattern usually ends up as a comfy housedress anyway, because it’s not so bra-friendly.

[Right now that HGTV commercial with the “embodied house” with 70s shag carpet and a sunken living room is running through my head, but I can’t seem to find a link to it online. If you know what I’m talking about, you are probably as addicted to House Hunters as I am.]

Leave a Reply

