Food on Friday: Oven BBQ chicken

I recently made the Sweet and Tangy Barbecue Chicken from America’s Test Kitchen [registration required] and it was really good. I made no major changes, just swapped out half the ketchup for chili sauce, and didn’t bother grating the onion and just diced it. It was a good sauce and technique, although I’d reduce the vinegar to 2 tablespoons next time. And at least in my elderly oven, all the broiling interval did was make a mess of my pan, with no appreciable caramelization on the actual chicken. I’d just bake a little longer, and then reduce the sauce down on the stove at the end.

Leave a Reply

