Spring pattern magazines, finally

When a gal hasn’t had time to sew, she should buy pattern magazines, right? (Crickets chirp.) Melissa has already weighed in on the April Knipmode, and her description of the plus options got me to buy. I’m glad I did – this is a great issue for both regular and plus, and includes lots of current trends like color blocking. Definitely a (temporary?) return to Knipmode’s former glory. To save on shipping (cough) I also got some Patrones and the new spring/summer LMB Taglie Forte.

LMB_TF_spring2012

The latter was a bit of a disappointment, compared to the previous issues of Taglie Forte I’ve purchased. The styles included are cute, but all pretty simple and there aren’t that many of them. If I’m going to pay ~20 bucks with shipping, I’m hoping for something that’s not just the same as I can find in the Big 4 at Joann’s for 99 cents. Nonetheless, here are the two tech drawing pages, for reference: page one and page two.

The Patrones were all older issues, and I chose them after looking at the helpful posts at Home Made Couture and The Curious Kiwi – thanks, ladies. I went for issues that had a lot of plus options, because Patrones runs smaller than nearly every other pattern magazine, so I would have a lot of grading up to do with a regular-size pattern (as opposed to Burda or Knipmode where I can often get away with a 44 or 46 for tops with some judicious adjustments). I got numbers 304, 306, and 308, all of which I would recommend if you’re looking for summer garments and plus patterns. There’s a plus summer dress with a gorgeous pleated bodice that’s definitely going on my sewing bucket list.

Leave a Reply

