Food on Friday: Strawberry-Rhubarb Pie

The rhubarb plant in the back of my planting area has finally settled in, thanks to last winter’s cold and rain. My parents were in town recently, and I made my mom’s strawberry-rhubarb pie with some of the proceeds. This recipe is adapted from the Betty Crocker cookbook circa the 1960s that still resides, much battered and bespattered, in my mom’s kitchen. Other versions use more strawberries and/or sugar and less rhubarb, but my family likes the tartness of rhubarb (except my husband – can you believe I married him even though he doesn’t like strawberry-rhubarb pie? That’s love, friends.) You can also be fancy and make your own pie crust, but Pillsbury All-Ready is good enough for me.

2 pre made roll-out pie crusts
4 cups rhubarb, chopped
1 – 1 1/2 cups strawberries, sliced
1/4 cup flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Mix fruit, flour and seasonings together and let it sit for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. Spoon mixture into first pie crust, top with second crust and cut slits in top to vent. Bake for 40-45 minutes.

Leave a Reply

