Thrifting overload?

I haven’t posted many sewing projects recently, I know. I’ve had really good luck at my local thrift stores recently, and my closet and drawers are plenty full. I don’t know about you, but I have a hard time feeling like it’s worthwhile to sew or buy something at retail when I am fortunate enough to be able to pick nice things up secondhand for 5 or 10 bucks. I live a casual lifestyle, and I have the time to go thrifting, so I could easily buy all my clothes secondhand if I chose to. Somehow that takes the shine off sewing for me – I know I’ll spend more time and more money and the product won’t be as good because I don’t have industrial tools or decades of experience. [Side note: this is also probably partially an example of the self-critical process that Ira Grass talks about in this interview, where a newish practitioner can see what’s wrong with their projects but can’t fix them yet.]

Anyway, not to be all ‘woe is me’ about that, but that’s what’s been going on in my head. I’m still very interested in sewing as a creative process, but right now I’m not that motivated to actually make things for myself. And my interest in daily fashion and outfits for “real folks” is growing, so I’ve thought about going to a hybrid blog that includes daily outfits, thrifting scores, as well as the occasional sewing project. I don’t know if that project would fit best here or should exist somewhere else, so it’s easy for those only interested in sewing can easily opt out. If you have an opinion, or if you read both daily fashion blogs and sewing blogs and would read a blog that includes both, I would love to hear what you think.

Leave a Reply

