Well, that didn’t last long

After wearing once, during their first wash (as a garment – I’d prewashed) my one-seam PJ shorts have died spectacularly. When I pulled them out of the washing machine the center back seam had sheared from the waistband halfway to the crotch. I’m not sure what happened, because I’d pinked the seam allowance and there shouldn’t have been that much raveling all at once. It looked more like a seam that had given under strain than a seam that was unraveling in the wash – maybe it got caught on something else in the load and got torqued during the spin-dry?

I guess that’s why people don’t make PJs out of rayon. I’m glad I didn’t make something like a skirt out of it – that could have been a serious wardrobe malfunction in public.

Anyone want to cheer me up and tell me about your catastrophic sewing fails?

One thought on “Well, that didn’t last long

Leave a Reply

