Food on Friday: ‘Maters

True story: When I was in college I had a summer internship in a lab, and one of the ladies I was working with brought her lunch to the lunchroom, pulled out a beefsteak tomato, and ate it like a peach. That’s when I knew she was from the South.

There’s nothing like a good homegrown tomato, but in our neck of the woods it’s a bit early for those. My tomato plants have set fruit but it’s all still green. And the options at the market aren’t that much more inspiring either. So I was glad to see this recipe from Scrumdillydilly for tomatoes marinated in olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and garlic. (What doesn’t taste better with balsamic vinegar and garlic?) She recommends using cherry tomatoes but I had half a container of plum tomatoes leftover, chopped them up and threw them in the fridge for a day or so before eating. Yummy. Glad I’ve got a way to wait out those last few weeks before real tomato season is here.

Leave a Reply

