Food Friday: Eggless chocolate-chip banana bread

Happy Solstice, and best wishes for the holiday season.

A friend of mine has a husband who’s allergic to eggs. This is more annoying than you might think, as a lot of prepared items as well as baked goods have eggs in them. I’d like to say that I made this recipe out of a selfless desire to help them out, but I will confess that I was forced to improvise my chocolate chip banana bread plans after my sweetie used all the eggs in the fridge to make french toast for breakfast one recent Sunday morning. I threw in some extra applesauce and hoped for the best, and it turned out pretty well despite the lack of eggs. I tend to prefer quick breads on the denser side, anyway. This is a fusion of several recipes that I found online as well as the classic banana bread recipe I learned from my mom.

Eggless chocolate-chip banana bread

1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
3/4 cup applesauce
3 overripe bananas (about 1 cup)
3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Sift together the dry ingredients. Cream together the butter and sugar, then add vanilla, applesauce and bananas alternately with flour mixture until combined. Fold in the chocolate chips. bake in one large or two small sprayed loaf pans at 350 F until cooked through, about 45 minutes. Cool briefly in the pan and then turn out onto a cooling rack to cool.

Leave a Reply

