Piecing with Craftsy

Craftsy has a new 2013 BOM class available for free. BOM stands for Block Of the Month, for those of you not down with all the quilty acronyms (seriously, with all the PIGs and UFOs and BOMs, quilters are nearly as bad as techies). They’ve also got the 2012 BOM still available to sign-up for and view. I don’t plan to make either of these quilts as designed (sampler quilts are not really my style) but I always enjoy adding new blocks and new skills to my piecing arsenal. I am really looking forward to learning some of the partial seaming techniques planned for later in the 2013 class.

It’s interesting that so far I’m not finding the video lessons for my various Craftsy classes particularly easier than figuring things out via written instructions. I’ve always known I was a word-based person, likely partially out of habit/training, and partially out of inherent preference. Written instructions are easy to “pause” when you need to think through something, and easy to scan back to find something you’ve missed – videos not so much. Even with visual things like piecing blocks or fitting garments, I’m not finding videos that much more useful than a written document with a few pictures added. We’ll see if that changes as I get more used to the instructional format.

During my super-brief career as an instructional designer more than a decade ago, the idea of multiple learning styles and sensory preferences was already in full sway. A lot of the training styles used for adults these days are very somatic and interactive, and from what I’ve heard that’s even more the case for kids. It seems to have trickled down to management approaches in the office, too – I’ve got a freelance gig where new policy changes are always communicated by group teleconference. This may be fairly efficient for the givers – they can talk once and everyone hears them. But for the receivers it’s not so great – you have to sit through everyone else’s questions which may or may not be relevant to you, and none of the information has been instantiated in text, so it’s not searchable in the future or printable as a reference document.

I’m not sure how I got from online quilting classes to learning styles, but in any case, right now I feel like the old man telling the kids to get off his lawn. You can take my old-fashioned written instructions and directions when you peel them from my cold, dead hands! (Ahem.)

Leave a Reply

