Food Friday: Broccoli Slaw with Buttermilk Dressing

Do you know about Smitten Kitchen? I think I’d heard something about some food blog, but I didn’t know that she was the new hotness until I heard her on NPR talking about her new cookbook. I admit that I don’t follow many food blogs; the endless parade of new recipes makes me anxious rather than joyous. When I pick up a cookbook or a cooking magazine it’s on purpose; food blogs get mixed in with all my other RSS reading and it feels out of place somehow.

Anyway, enough about my technological weirdnesses. I was looking for an atypical broccoli slaw recipe the other day, and the most promising search result was indeed the Smitten Kitchen one: Broccoli Slaw. I tried it and it got four thumbs up – two from me and two from the mister, who is not a big salad person, so that’s quite the praise. Something about the buttermilk makes the dressing not so heavy, even though there is a bit of mayo still in there. I omitted the dried cranberries and used a bag of broccoli slaw and a half-bag of shredded carrots, rather than shredding my own broccoli. Very tasty and it keeps well – in fact, I’d say it was better after a couple days.

Leave a Reply

