Food on Friday: not a recipe at all, really

Sometime in my college years, I got really interested in houseplants. Maybe it was a pleasant distraction from all the studying, but I learned a lot of basic gardening and what you can keep alive through a gray Wisconsin winter in a room with only one small window (hint: not much). Then I lost interest, until I had my own place with room for a garden, and then I got into vegetable gardening for a few years. That’s the way that it seems to happen with me and hobbies; I don’t get tired of them as much as I feel like I’ve learned what I wanted to know, and I want to move onto the next area to discover. I tend to come back to them and add on additional skills and knowledge, but only after some time away.

I’ve been eating more healthfully recently, and for me that means simplifying my cooking. If I posted a recipe for you guys of what I’ve been cooking recently, it would look something like:
1. Buy a jar of masala simmer sauce from Trader Joe’s. Put it in a saucepan.
2. Add some chicken breasts and cook.
3. Throw in a can of chickpeas and a few handfuls of spinach and warm through until the spinach is wilted.
4. Serve over rice.

Not exactly going to set the world on fire, is it? But that’s what I’ve been cooking, and that’s what I’ve been eating, and it’s working for my life and my goals right now, even though it’s not going to get me a job as a cookbook author.

Leave a Reply

