Food on Friday: grilled tri-tip

Tri-tip is a beef cut that I’d never heard of until I moved to California; apparently it’s a West Coast thing. I’ve never had great luck making it at home; it always ends up a little chewier than I prefer, but it’s not the kind of thing you can really slow roast. So I was interested to try thisrecipe for grilled tri-tip from about.com which has you marinate the meat in a vinegar marinade for a couple hours before grilling it.

It was good, and the marinade was tasty (and smelled great while cooking). I think, however, that next time I would try cooking it in the oven if I’m not using a real charcoal grill (I used a grill pan on the stove, which doesn’t give you the surrounding heat that you get from a proper grill). It took a very long time to get the middle cooked, and eventually we gave up and chopped the thing up into pieces to finish cooking.

Leave a Reply

