Food on Friday: Moist boneless porkchops

In the past, my tried-and-true method for keeping boneless pork chops moist in the past was to dredge them in panko crumbs and a little melted butter. That doesn’t really fit with my current “slimming program,” as the Brits say. I went trolling around the web for ideas and settled on this approach from the Boston Chef blog which has you sear first on the stove and then finish cooking in the oven. I first sprinkled them with French country vinaigrette mix* from Penzey’s on both sides, cooked them on medium-high for 2 minutes on the first side, 1 on the second, then baked in a 350 degree oven for about 10 minutes (honestly, it was however long it took me to make the asparagus). They turned out quite good and I plan to use this approach again in the future.

* Penzey’s sent me this as a sample with an order one time and I don’t think I’ve ever actually made salad dressing with it, funnily enough. It’s very good on pork and chicken and since it already has salt and pepper in it it’s very quick for seasoning meat.

Leave a Reply

