Food on Friday: File bands for your potluck transport

Here’s a quick cooking-related tip for your Friday, mainly because I’m impressed by my own genius (hee). Yesterday we were going over to a friend’s house for a Fourth of July potluck and I had several dishes I was bringing. Nothing was hot, so I didn’t have to worry about that issue, but most everything had glass lids on glass or ceramic bowls and I didn’t want the lids to come sliding off in the car or bang against one another and get chipped.

filebands1
So I turned to an office supply I’d purchased a while ago at Target – file bands. These are long, wide rubber bands that are designed to hold file folders or notebooks closed. I found that they were just the perfect size to go around a casserole dish and keep the dish and lid safely together and secure.

filebands2

Consider that last image a teaser for next week’s recipe: tomato-avocado-mozzarella salad. (Ooh!)

Leave a Reply

