Food on Friday: Broccoli salad

My TiVo often thinks I should watch cooking shows, although I rarely record them on my own recognizance. This is how, in an idle moment, I flipped through my TiVo suggestions and learned that country star Trisha Yearwood now has a cooking show. I was seduced into watching the recorded episode by its featuring pimento cheese, which I’m a sucker for. But it was the broccoli salad that stuck in my mind, and I tried it out the other day.
My modifications: cut the whole recipe in half, eliminated the raisins, and used a bag of microwavable broccoli florets for maximum sloth. Oh, and used turkey bacon because it’s what I had around. Precooked bacon bits would also make this even quicker. It was quite tasty and a nice change for a cool side dish; sometimes I get so tired of the same old lettuce salads in summer.

Leave a Reply

