Food Friday: Chicken chili in the slow cooker

You’re gonna stop trusting my cookbook reviews if I keep posting recipes inspired by cookbooks that I said I wouldn’t bother to buy. 🙂 Ah well, who knows where inspiration comes from sometimes? My aunt used to make a killer white chili (chicken or turkey, white beans, no tomatoes) and I’ve tried recreating it periodically. Never gotten it quite right yet. When I was looking at the 7-Day Meal Planner for Dummies, I saw a quick and easy chicken chili recipe that I later riffed on. This is not exactly a white chili because it has tomatoes, but it turned out really tasty, with just the right amount of kick for us, and a really nice texture to the sauce (that, I think, is due to the enchilada sauce). My amounts are estimates since really I just threw it all in. You could, of course, make this on the stove instead.

1 – 1 1/2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into ~1-2″ chunks
2 14 oz cans of white beans, drained
1 32 oz can of chopped tomatoes (pick the kind with onions and green chiles if you want extra kick)
1 small can chopped green chiles
1 can green enchilada sauce (red would probably work fine too, I just love the taste of tomatillos)
1 tablespoon chili powder (or to taste)
1 teaspoon cumin (or to taste)

Throw it all in a slow cooker on low and let cook for 6-8 hours. Really good topped with greek yogurt and shredded cheddar.

Leave a Reply

