Wow, this blog has been a wasteland recently, huh? I have found that buying clothes that fit is so much easier now that I have lost weight, so sewing for necessity just hasn’t needed to happen. And sewing for fun/curiosity has gotten pushed down the life list thanks to some other projects that I’m involved in. The most I’ve done since Christmas has been to clean up my sewing area (a bit) and buy the newest two Knipmode magazines.

Pattern Review is sponsoring a ‘new to you’ pattern contest; from mid Feb-mid Mar, sew a pattern from a line you’ve never used before. I am tempted. I’ve made something from Knipmode and LMB, so those are out, but I could finally make my Cake Hummingbird, or one of the Deer & Doe Plantain tees (free!) that’s sweeping the sew-o-blog-o-sphere, or maybe kick it up a notch and try one of the free patterns from Marfy (sleeveless top, skirt and jacket) that Leisa @ A Challenging Sew has been running a sewalong for. That’s not even mentioning the new collection from Named, a new indie PDF outfit from Finland. Their first collection last fall only went up to size 44 and was one-sized, but now all their patterns go up to size 46 (41/34.5/44″ bust/waist/hip) and are multi-sized nested, which I find really handy since I am a size bigger on the bottom half. I really dig the Selja Knot Tee, an interesting minimalist offshoot of all the twist tees of a few years ago.

Leave a Reply

