Revisiting the Gwynnie Bee experience

Back in September I wrote about Gwynnie Bee and Twice. I have had nothing but great experiences with Twice, which is an online consignment store. I have both bought and sold there and recommend it (although I’d say beware of your wallet if you’re a thrifty shopper like me; it can get addicting.)

I wanted to revisit my experience of Gwynnie Bee, too. I’ve been a happy subscriber since last June, but I do have a couple of reservations. Just to recap, real quick, Gwynnie Bee is essentially Netflix for clothes – for a monthly subscription fee, you get a number of garments out at a time. You can keep them as long as you like and swap them out whenever you want.

One of my reservations is totally not their fault – it’s that their primary audience is plus-sized women. Although they do claim sizes 10-28, the bulk of their items is only available in sizes 14w and up. And I’m a 12 or 14 depending on brand, so a lot of their items don’t go small enough for me. The other is rather more under their control: their packing and shipping has seemed to get slower and slower. It regularly takes two business days after I’ve told them I’m returning an item for them to get the next item out of their warehouse and in the mail. This seems awfully slow to me, when the whole point of the service is that they should send out replacements right away. It doesn’t help that I’m all the way across the country from them – they’re in New Jersey and I’m in California.

I would still recommend them to any plus-sized woman who is looking for a more varied wardrobe, especially for office wear. I don’t know if I’ll keep my membership much longer, since a) I don’t have to dress for an office and b) I’m not plus-sized anymore, so clothes are easier to find in regular stores.

Leave a Reply

