Food Friday: cookbook recommendation and pork & kale

Apparently Nigel Slater is some sort of culinary celebrity in the UK. I’d never heard of him until Marisa at Food in Jars mentioned his newest cookbook during her favorite cookbooks of 2014 roundup. After a while on my library’s hold queue, Eat became available this week and I really enjoyed it. I’ve not made anything from it yet – I added several recipes to my ‘try this’ queue on Plan to Eat – but I fully expect to enjoy the results. It’s written in a narrative style, in paragraphs without the ingredients being mentioned ahead of time, and that makes it a much less clinical experience to read (and, I presume, to cook with). If you’re looking for interesting but not crazy-complicated food to make at home, I highly recommend you check out Eat.

Next week I plan to post a review of two weekly meal planning services that I’ve been trying out. The below recipe is a modification of a recipe from one of them, 5 Dinners 1 Hour. In honor of Nigel Slater, I’ve written it in his style from Eat, even though he has absolutely nothing to do with this recipe.

Slow cooker pork & kale
Adapted from a recipe from 5 Dinners 1 Hour

Plug in your slow cooker and spray with cooking spray. Add 3-4 pork chops* to the bottom (preferably bone-in, about 1 1/2 – 2 pounds). Clean a bunch of kale and tear into medium-sized pieces, adding on top of the pork. Dice a medium onion and toss it in (or be super-lazy and use half a bag of frozen chopped onions). Open a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes (preferably with garlic) and pour on top. Add a couple glugs (~2 tablespoons) of balsamic vinegar. Cook until tender, 3-4 hours on high or 6-7 on low, I would guess, stirring the greens and tomatoes occasionally if possible. If you get home early and you have a bunch of spinach or arugula to use up, dump that on top to cook down for the last 30 minutes to an hour. Good alone or served with rice or couscous.

* I defrosted mine the day before in the fridge, but if you haven’t you could probably get away with starting from frozen, as long as you have a couple extra hours to let the whole thing cook. You might end up with too much water; I dunno.

Leave a Reply

