2015 reading challenge: April report

I’ll preface this month with one book that’s not on the list, because I didn’t finish it: Kazuo Ishiguro’s new novel, The Buried Giant. I like a bit of literary fiction on occasion but this was just a slog. I got about a third of the way through and realized I didn’t care about the characters, I wasn’t engaged with the plot, and whatever allegory he was trying to construct seemed more obvious than the one-liners in Furious 7. So I stopped. Next!

Fourth month for the Popsugar reading challenge.

Here are the categories I completed in April:

A book a friend recommended:
Start with Why by Simon Sinek. Grade: B

A book with a number in the title:
Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel. Grade: A

A book set in the future:
Obsession in Death by J.D. Robb. Grade: B

A book from an author you love that you haven’t read yet:
Dead Heat by Patricia Briggs. Grade: B

A book with antonyms in the title:
Medium Raw by Anthony Bourdain. Grade: B

A book set in another country:
Otherwise Engaged by Amanda Quick. Grade: A

A popular author’s first book:
Shards of Honor by Lois McMaster Bujold. Grade: B

A funny book:
Mark Cooper Versus America by Lisa Henry & J.A. Rock. Grade: A

A book more than 100 years old:
Gilgamesh translated by Stephen Mitchell. Grade: A
(Figured if I was going to read something old, I’d go for really old – in fact, the oldest written fiction that exists in the world, from what I understand. This new translation is well done and compelling.)

A book at the bottom of your to-read list:
Every Idea is a Good Idea by Tom Sturges. Grade: B

I don’t think I read more books than usual this month; it’s just that most of them managed to fit in one of the challenge categories. Ten categories down this month!

Progress:
Months completed: 4 of 12 (30%)
Challenges completed: 24 of 50 (48%)

Leave a Reply

