Reading progress report, March (& April)

Argh! I wrote this up for March, but apparently I never scheduled it to actually post. Just came to do an April post and found that March wasn’t up either. As it turns out, I didn’t finish any books on the list in April, so a two-month post is just fine. March below:

I’ve decided to replace last month’s hated DNF, Fates and Furies, with All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr. It’s another one that has come up on a lot of the ‘best books of 2015’ lists. My mom read it and quite enjoyed it. So, replacing the Groff with the Doerr, that keeps my list at 12 books for 12 months.

I completed two books this month, Hold Still by Sally Mann, and Americanah, by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. Hold Still is an odd beast of a memoir, written by a controversial photographer.  Her approach to the world certainly differs from mine, but she’s a thoughtful, almost brutally honest memorist, which made the book very powerful if not always enjoyable to read. Americanah was great, and deserves all the praise it’s gotten, although I was a little disappointed in the resolution of the romantic plot.

I have also started reading War and Peace. When I was doing research about the various translations last year, I saw the Pevear & Volokhonsky translation of 2007 recommended, so that’s the version that I bought. More recently I see that some translators disagree with their interpretation and there’s quite the division in the field about it. Who knew there was so much literary translator drama in the world?

Books read this month: 2

Books read total: 6

Percentage of year complete: 25%

Percentage of books complete: 50%

Leave a Reply

