2012 garden review

I suppose now is as good a time as any to look back on my garden for the year. We’ve had our usual Indian Summer warmup, so my tomato plants are still kickin’ along – depending on how cool it gets at night I’ll probably get a few more weeks out of them. I only planted 4 plants this year, and had a better turnout per plant than last year, but because it was so cool in early summer the tomatoes were really late (again – I’m starting to admit that that’s just what you get in most of the Bay Area).

I planted one bell pepper plant and ended up with 2 or 3 peppers all summer, I think – pepper plants just aren’t high-bearing for me so I’m not sure I’ll bother with them next year.

I’ve already posted about the nearly complete fail of my potatoes-in-a-bucket experiment. Most of the problem seems to have been my overwatering, but again potatoes are one of the cheapest things to buy in the grocery store so I’m not sure whether I’ll bother with them again.

I should have done cucumbers or zucchini or something squash-ish this year but after last year I was afraid the tomatoes just wouldn’t leave room. As it turns out the tomato plants didn’t get nearly as big as last year (yet I ended up with more actual tomatoes – the endless double bind of tomato growing?)

It’s possible we’ll be moving before next summer, so if that happens I’ll have a whole new space to plan for.

If you have a garden, how did it do this year, or what are you planning to grow next year?

Leave a comment