Well then

One of the dangers of buying vintage patterns: all the pieces aren’t always there. Remember Butterick 9895, the dress I was thinking of for my SIL’s wedding? I was tracing it today and found that only the skirt for view 1, the straight skirt, is there. No full skirt in sight. I had really planned to use the full skirt view the most; I don’t wear straight skirts much. Not to fear, I rummaged through my patterns and found another vintage pattern with a very similar skirt (full, CF and CB seams, no side fronts or backs). And it’s a size closer to my bottom half, too, so I won’t have to do as much altering as the original skirt would have needed.

(Original dress on the left, ‘substitute’ skirt on the right. If I ever was forced to wear a jumper (you know, cause that happens so often, those pro-jumper vigilantes!), I think I could handle one like the one on the Simplicity drawing.)

Leave a comment